top of page

DENGUE FEVER | BEING SICK IN A HOSPITAL IN THAILAND


D E N G U E F E V E R | BEING SICK IN A HOSPITAL IN THAILAND

Being admitted in a hospital in SouthEast Asia, I think I had never considered that chance even knowing there was always that possibility. We arrived to Krabi International Hospital after midday. After 5 minutos, the staff had already checked my temperature, blood pressure and analyzed ears and throat. I waited in the sofa till they call my name again.

I explained the doctor the symptons I had, for how long and where. He made me go back to where I had been before, and before and before. Is was a mess to think backwords. So many places, so many countries!

I am lying in the bed of the hospital while receiving serum and the nurse comes to take some blood for analisis. The doctor told me he's going to test it for Malaria and Dengue. I search a little bit about it on the vblogs from some backpackers that I started to follow in the beginning of my trip. I still have some hope that it will be just a "nice" virus.

The results arrive 1 hour after. It's time to call my sister to kill that "curiosity" of knowing what's my problem after all. My Mum is the one who answers. Despite my effort not to explain the reality, the best I could do was "I am ok Mum, I just have Dengue Fever". The answer from the other side, "Oh my god, you have to come back!".

I entered in the hospital on 5th May, my blood analysis revealed 80 000 platelets when the minimum is 140 000. I was receiving serum 24h, medication before and after each meal and a strange mix with orange flavour to refill some vitamins I had lost. The inicial prognosis from the doctor was 5 nights in the hospital. For me, that just meant 6 very very very boring days and a huge hospital bill (blood analysis only costed 350€). So, I did everything I could to recover fast! The fact that I handle the longest time sick alone, helped me staying less time in the hospital. In the second day I felt hitching all over my body, I thought I was allergic to some of the medicin they were giving me but the news were actually good! It was a final sympton from Dengue, I would probably be okay to leave the day after. With the level of platelets growing, stronger and a nicer skin colour, I left the hospital !

Maybe you are questioning yourselfes about the conditions of the hospitals in Thailand. Let me tell you, everything was great. Comunicating was the hardest part because their english is not very good but the infrastructure and medical cares were more than ok.

I left the hospital after 3 nights, still weak but ready to enjoy the maximum of Thailand. I was getting better each day, still feeling tired pretty fast and seeing black dots in the sly due to the alterations in the eye caused by Dengue.

I considered continuing the trip still but even after almost "bathing" in repelent I kept on being bitten. The possibility of having Dengue again joined with the fact that the second time can really be deadly made the return mandatory. The return ticket came 2 months earlier than planned leaving Vietnam, Laos and Cambodja to another adventure and leaving me a really good story to tell.

D E N G U E | ESTAR DOENTE NUM HOSPITAL NA TAILÂNDIA

Ficar internada num hospital do Sudeste Asiático, acho que nunca tinha considerado essa hipótese apesar de ter noção que seria possível. Chegamos ao Hospital Internacional de Krabi já depois do meio dia. Em 5 minutos já me tinham tirado a temperatura, analisado ouvidos e garganta e medido a tensão.

Aguardo no sofá para me chamarem novamente. Explico ao médico os meus sintomas, há quanto tempo e como tenho andado. Faz-me recuar no tempo para o país onde estive antes, e o anterior, e o outro antes desse. Isto de pensar de trás para a frente é realmente complicado! Vão tirar-me sangue e fazer a análise para Malária e Dengue. Enquanto estou deitada na maca, já com soro a alimentar-me, vou pesquisando sobre o vírus. Alguns backpackers que sigo desde que comecei o planeamento da viagem partilham as suas experiências com a febre da Dengue. Eu, peço por favor para que o teste dê negativo.

Passado 1h, lá chegam os resultados. Está na altura de ligar à mana para matar aquela "curiosidade" de qual é o meu problema de saúde afinal. Quem atende é a Mãe e apesar da minha tentativa de não explicar logo a realidade, o melhor que saiu foi "Está tudo bem, tenho Dengue". Ao qual a reacção do outro lado foi apenas "Ai credo, tens de voltar então!".

Fui internada dia 5 de Maio, a análise de sangue resultava em 80 000 plaquetas quando o mínimo são 140 000. Soro 24h por dia, medicação antes e depois de todas as refeições para conseguir comer e beber "normalmente" e uma mistura estranha de sabor a laranja para repor os electrólitos.

O prognóstico inicial do médico seria eu ficar internada 5 noites, o que para mim significa 6 dias de tédio e uma conta de hospital avultada já que só a análise de sangue tinha um custo de 350€. Fiz tudo para melhorar o mais rapidamente possível, e o facto de já ter aguentado grande parte da virose sozinha fez com que no segundo dia a opinião do médico já fosse bem melhor. Comecei a sentir imensa comichão no corpo todo e pensei que seria alergia a algum dos medicamentos, mas as notícias foram bem melhores! Este sintoma só aparece no final da virose, o que significava que se no dia seguinte me sentisse melhor, já poderia ter alta! E assim foi, plaquetas já a subir, uma cor melhor de pele e mais força para arrancar dali para fora!

Talvez se estejam a questionar das condições de um hospital na Tailândia, mas posso dizer-vos que foram espectaculares! Apesar de a comunicação ser difícil pois poucos dos funcionários falavam inglês, as instalações e cuidados médicos foram excelentes.

Saí do hospital após 3 noites de internamento, ainda fraca mas pronta para aproveitar aquilo que conseguisse da Tailândia. Fui melhorando dia-a-dia, ainda ficando cansada rapidamente e vendo pontinhos pretos no céu devido às alterações causadas pela Dengue na retina do olho.

Considerei continuar a viagem à medida que me ia sentindo mais forte mas mesmo enchendo-me de repelente dia e noite as picadas de insectos continuavam. A probabilidade de apanhar novamente Dengue aliado ao facto de a segunda vez poder tornar-se mortal tornou o regresso obrigatório. Um regresso com antecipação de 2 meses que deixaram para uma próxima aventura o Vietnam, Laos e Cambodja e que me deixa uma grande história para contar.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page